Product Review: Silk Elements Kera Minerals Smoothing Deep Conditioner

I got this as my free gift for renewing my Sally’s Beauty Club Card membership. They didn’t have it at my Sally’s in Oregon, so I waited until I went to NC so that I could try this product!

I just ran out of my KeraPro Restorative Deep Conditioner and my local Sally’s no longer carried it. I also tried to do a search for it on Sally’s website and it is not there??? Hmm. Anywho … I wanted a deep conditioner that had some silk proteins in it and this fit the bill. As you all know, long hair is old hair and I am finding that my once-protein sensitive hair needs it on a regular basis. It looks like it is meant to be a part of the Silk Elements Smoothing System, but I read the reviews and it appeared people were using this product as a stand-alone deep conditioner. Get into these details … (from Sallybeauty.com)

What it does

  • Strengthens hair
  • Reduces frizz
  • Adds shine

Silk Elements Kera Minerals Smoothing Deep Conditioner is especially formulated with Seriseal Complex that combines Sercin Silk Protein with hair keratin to produce effect results in reducing frizz and volume while adding shine and conditioning properties t the hair.

Restores lost keratin that can cause hair breakage, dryness, dullness and frizz. Helps strengthen, smooth and replenish keratin to hair. Safe for natural or chemically treated or color-treated hair. With continual use, it will improve and prolong the look of your smoothing system.

Ingredients

WATER (AQUA, EAU), CETYL ALCOHOL, BEHENTRIMONIUM CHLORIDE, GLYCOL STEARATE, AMODIMETHICONE, GLYCOL DISTEARATE, CETRIMONIUM CHLORIDE, TRIDECETH-12, POLYQUATERNIUM-7, SERICIN, GUAR HYDROXYPROPYLTRIMONIUM CHLORIDE, CETRIMONIUM CHLORIDE, BENENTRIMONIUM CHLORIDE, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, ROSA MOSCHATA SEED OIL, PEG-75 LANOLIN, BENZOPHENONE-4, SODIUM PCA, FRAGRANCE (PARFUM), TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, CITRIC ACID, PHENOXYETHANOL, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, ETHYLHEXYLGLYCERIN, HEXYLENE GLYCOL, BENZYL BENZOATE.

The Verdict

First and foremost, the smell of this stuff is devine! I can’t even describe how it smells! It’s not floral or anything … just smells good! Silk Elements makes products that do smell great, I must say! The consistency is thick, as most deep conditioners tend to be. I apply this product in two sections, making sure I detangle after it is applied. It provides great slip. I use this as my “steam” treatment, where I sit under the dryer with a wet turban covered with a plastic cap. I sit about 30-50 minutes, rinse, apply Roux, then rinse in cold water! I must say, after using this product twice, my hair is definitely conditioned and my hair has a sheen to it that normally does not happen when I faux air-dry my hair. Despite it being having protein, my hair felt moisturized and soft! The week after I first used the product, my hair did a good job at retaining moisture, even after I sweated in it all week!

This is a great protein deep conditioner for a great price (it retails for about $6.49 at Sally’s)! I plan on rotating it out with my other 2 deep conditioners and using it every 2nd or third week! I also think that I may cocktail it with the ApHogee 2 minute keratin treatment as my mid-step protein treatment come relaxer day in about 6 weeks.

If you are need of a protein deep conditioner for a great price, I highly recommend this one!

kera

 

 

Leave a Reply

