Happy February and State of Aff-hairs

Well, I got ghost for a little while, didn’t I? January was a whirlwind for me. Between the week-long trips to Canada and NC and two bouts of sickness (the latter while I was on my trip to NC, it left little time for things such as … well, you know … work/hair/blogging. Ha! After a trip to Seattle next week to visit with my friend and old-coworker who lives in Hawaii, I should be pretty stationary for a while unless travel is for work. We will be getting ready for a visit from Nathan’s parents who live in Hawaii and Hong Kong and my mom in May because Nathan will be graduating for law school!!

NC Hair

So how’s my hair? Oh it is good. I blew it out for the first part of my trip home to NC. I actually don’t think I need to flat iron it after using a blow dryer! I just put some good serum on it and cross wrap it. Within a day or so, I have some nice bumps at the end. Score! The second part of my trip I went to Durham to visit with some old friends. Before I saw anyone, I stopped by my old hair salon on Fayetteville Street called Hair Galleries, formerly known as Studio 10 and Studio Plus. This was THE place I got my hair done back in the day (2004-2009). You could not beat the $10 doobie, the $35 relaxer, etc. Of course, I loaded my hair with color during this time, so my hair never looked good beyond APL, so I didn’t get to benefit from this place while on a HHJ. I was a little leery (as I am at all salons), but the girl I had was awesome! She was young and fresh out of hair school, but she knew what she was doing! She was open to every request I had.Β She let me use my Alterna products as well as graciously used my seamless combs. She even knew to start detangling from the bottom! I praised her for that! She rolled me on purple and gray. I don’t know how she got so many rollers in my head, but she did. I sat under the dryer for about 90 minutes (I told her I take a long time to dry!), she took them out and wrapped it around my head since I was getting ready to shower. For a roller set, deep conditioner and tip, it was $20. If and when I relocate back to the RDU, I will be going back here until I am proven they aren’t worthy. There was this lady who worked there who said “I had to keep looking at your hair to see if it was real!” I assured her it was and showed her my 2 year growth pics and she was blown away! She asked me how I did it and I simply said “condition, low-manipulation, reduce the use of direct heat, protect the ends and genetics!”

I didn’t take any pictures because my camera was full of pictures of my hair! I eventually deleted some of them, but no hair photos from this trip. Just know that it looked good, because if it didn’t, I would tell you so! πŸ™‚ It was so darn cold back in NC that I am surprised that my hair didn’t break off more than it did! Between me combing it daily so that I could wear it down and the cold, I could not wait to get back home so I could bun and be in a more temperate and moist climate. I honestly think the Pac NW is the perfect place to grow out hair!

New Products

I visited Sally’s because it was time for me to renew my membership and get my free Silk Elements gift. I had been eyeing the Silk Elements Kera Minerals Smoothing Deep Conditioner (full review to come this week) because a girl with long hair needs her protein! Of course my Sally’s didn’t have it, so I decided to wait until I got to NC so I could get it. I did and I love it. Stay tuned.

When you renew, you also get a $5 off coupon. I wanted to use it while I had a good assortment of products, but I just couldn’t think of anything I needed! I have deep conditioners, shampoo, leave-ins, etc! Then my eyes wandered to the “natural” hair products and I saw some Shea Moisture Hold and Shine Moisture Mist. As I just mentioned, my hair was as thirsty as some of the people in NC (ahahahhah!) and I figured this might do my hair well for when it is air dried and a bit more prone to breakage. It has coconut oil and some silk proteins, so it was a definite GET. So far, so good!

Hair Goals

I think I am comfortable with growing my hair about 4-4.5 more inches. This way, my hair may extend to my waist in the front as well as the back. Right now, my hair comes close to covering the boob, but I want it a bit longer. That may put me in W’HIP territory in the back, which I thought I wanted to avoid, but I am like “what the heck … let it grow!’ I’ll stop when it reaches that goal or looks raggedy. Either way, I am pretty happy about the progress I have made!

Speaking of growth, my hair grows like a weed in the winter. I don’t know why, because it defines the commonly-held idea that hair grows faster in the summer. I think I have surpassed an inch of new growth not quite two months after my last relaxer. I will get an official measurement soon.

Hair Styles

I predict I will be doing the faux air dry method and twist outs for the last half of my relaxer stretch. If the faux air dry method proves to be giving me too much breakage (which it hasn’t thus far), I will reassess. I am currently trying out a new fitness regimen and it may be necessary for me to co-wash during the week. I hate the thought of having to wet my hair so much, but I can’t have it a dry, tangly mess!

Well, that is all for now, my friends! I will definitely be back to blogging on a more regular basis! And for your viewing pleasure … here is the only picture that I took while in NC (it was the last day and my family was having breakfast at Cracker Barrel when my cousin DaJuan pointed it out) … and it sums up the moral of the trip perfectly – the thirst in NC is real (for people and hair alike!) Gasp, even I admitted to be just a little thirsty … but only a little! πŸ˜‰

Until next time!! πŸ™‚

photo (13)

3 thoughts on “Happy February and State of Aff-hairs

  1. When you speak of having to co-wash after your workouts. Why do you hate the thought of having wet hair so much? Do you see this as a problem for your hair in some way?

    • Hi Sandi! Hair is most fragile when it is wet and the process of washing, conditioning and detangling can be quite traumatic to strands. However, I use coconut oil to help with hygral fatigue (the process of hair swelling in the process of being wetted and contracting when it dries). I also use seamless combs and use light protein leave-ins to help keep my ends strong and more resistant to breakage.

      The most I would co-wash during the week is once (often Wednesdays or Thursdays), so it shouldn’t hurt the hair too much! πŸ™‚ Honestly, dry, parched hair baked with sweat would be way worse than doing a quick co-wash! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

