Wash Day and 2 Year Length Check!

Greetings guys! Hope everyone had a great weekend!

I decided to wash my hair today instead of yesterday like I promised. I missed a workout on Friday so I needed to make it up this morning, which bumped Wash Day a day.

Here’s how Wash Day went:

Pre-poo: Coconut oil, honey, Alberto V-05 Strawberries and Cream conditioner, safflower oil. I also do a tea rinse. Kept on hair for 1 hour, 40 of those minutes with heat

Shampoo: Alterna Life Solutions Clarifying Shampoo, Alterna Caviar Volume

In-Shower Conditioning Treatment: Alterna Caviar Conditioner, Ion Extreme Moisture cream, Alterna Rx Thermal Oil

Deep Conditioner: L’Oreal Total Repair 5 Damage-Erasing Balm, final rinse with Roux

Leave-ins: Alterna Caviar Photo Age Defense, Alterna Caviar Perfect Blowout Cream, Pureology Color Fanatic, Alterna Bamboo Anti-Breakage Thermal Protectant Spray

**The Pureology Colour Fanatic is a leave-in spray that was a free sample from Ulta. It has coconut oil, fennel seed oil and a vegetable-based protein to strengthen hair. **

I blew my hair out as normal. Before and after blow-drying, I applied my Alterna Anti-Breakage Thermal Protectant spray for an added layer of protectant. After my entire head was dry, I parted it in six sections, applied some more Alterna Bamboo and blew the hair out on cool, just to seal the cuticle. I then applied 2 pumps of Carol’s Daughter Monoi Oil to each side of my hair. The entire ordeal was pretty harmless. There was a knot of hair that broke off in the bottom layers, but other than that, it was all gravy! I was supposed to throw in some Carusos, but with my workout schedule, it honestly makes no sense to do so. I will just wear it up in a bun all week!

I have been worried since the salon ordeal that my hair was thinning and excessively shedding. I thought that blowing out my hair would let me assess any damage done. Honestly, my hair looks the same as it always does! Hemline is still a bit janky from my cutting (but I have a full hemline for the most part), hair is a good density. I am pleased! I am getting oh-so-close to WL! Honestly, it still doesn’t even feel real to me! It still seems like everyone else’s MBL/WL is so much longer than mine!!! #longhairproblems Hairorexia strikes again!

photo 5photo 2

So here is my 2 year comparison shot! Full SL to licking WL in 2 years!!! Not so bad, if I must say so myself! 🙂

January 2012                                                January 2014

20120115-162416.jpg photo 1

16 thoughts on “Wash Day and 2 Year Length Check!

    • Thank you very much, Yvonne!! Like I said on your blog, it gets easier in Year 2!! Well for me, at least! :))) Your moment will happen, trust me!!! I remember when I started and I was oogling over ladies’ hair that was BSL+ and I felt that I would never get there, but I did and you will too! Honestly, when you make BSL, things just take off from there. Ahhhh … The ever elusive BSL!

  1. Your hair looks beautiful. I really want to start a regimen like yours. My hair tends to grow rather easily, but I’m so hard on it. A busy schedule, working out and limited time always leave my hair last on the list of priorities. You’re my inspiration to change!

    • I appreciate it! Working out and styling my hair is always a challenge (I wear rollersets, twistouts or air dry it), but after a while, you’ll get the hang of it!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      • I am updating next relaxer. I have finally controlled the breakage and I am curbing my scissors happy urges. My hair is the longest it has been in a while. 2014 is a good hair year for me.

    • Well I am looking forward to your update! And yes, put those scissors away unless it is to dust! Honestly, I think if you control the breakage, then you are good to go!! Have you tried Carol’s Daughter Monoi line? The anti-breakage spray and especially the serum have been a blessing regarding breakage! Highly recommended!

Leave a Reply

