Relaxer Day!!!!!!!

I must admit, this relaxer day came fast! I don’t know if it was the ease of this stretch (I was 14 weeks post and normally I relax around 12-13 weeks) or the fact that the fall has flown by, but before I knew it, it was time to relax! Due to the fact that I need to cook and get ready for a week-long work trip, I will make this quick and dirty!

This is the first time Kim has not done my relaxer since May 2012! I was going to self-relax, but at the last minute I decided to ask my friend Tracie to help me out! I am still a bit chicken about applying such a chemical to my hair!

So here’s how Relaxer Day went:

Friday night, I applied vitamin E oil and Softee coconut grease to my ends and pigtailed my hair in six sections so that my hair wouldn’t be tangled. I did a good job keeping my hair detangled this week so I wouldn’t have any problems come relaxer day! I put on my satin bonnet and went to sleep. I also laid out all the things that I would need for my relaxer.

I did get a good chuckle out of the Softee coconut ingredients list! They have the nerve to tell people that this stuff is moisturizing? Not a drop of water insight! I will say that the smell took me back to childhood! I loved the smell of coconut grease!

20131208-182937.jpg20131208-183006.jpg20131208-182951.jpg

Saturday morning, I applied the Softee coconut grease to my scalp and edges. Tracie said I laid it on so thick that there were globs of it in my hair! Better to be safe than sorry!

Tracie then applied my Mizani Butter Blends relaxer. It took about 25 minutes from first application until I rinsed. The good thing was, I was not burning at all (must have been that coconut grease!!!) I rinsed out the relaxer and then applied my ApHogee 2 minute Keratin Treatment. I put on a warm turban, topped off with a conditioning cap and sat under the dryer for 17 minutes. I rinsed that out, neutralized with shampoo, then applied my Silk Elements Megasilk deep conditioner for about 20 minutes, then final rinsed with Roux.

I know I said I was not going to use direct heat again, but I just didn’t have the energy to roll my hair and sit under a dryer for 2 hours. Besides, we had Christmas photos to take that afternoon and time was already flying by. I had Tracie flat iron it and put in some curls, which I promptly noticed needed dusting, as my ends were looked a little raggedy. With that said, I do not have a length check photo. I plan on roller setting next week so I will try and get one then!

All-in-all, I believe my relaxer took really well and I am happy with the results! It was definitely a bit weird getting my hair relaxed at home (which hasn’t happened in ages)!

In lieu of hair photos, here are some of our holiday photos!

photo (11)photo (12)20131208-182916.jpg

 

6 thoughts on “Relaxer Day!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

