Wash Day and a Twist Out

Greetings friends! Hope everyone is enjoying their weekend!

Today’s Wash Day was inspired by my friend Tracie who was inspired by Donedo on YouTube. Monday, Tracie came in with big, voluminous curls and I asked where she got the inspiration and she shared this twist out video by Donedo. I was inspired to do a twist out again. Honestly, it has been since Summer 2012 since I have done a twist out so I thought I would give it a shot. Today I also simulated the relaxer application by using some cheap conditioner. I need a few trials to ensure I have the timing and smoothing down pat. I got the relaxer in and smooth in about 15 minutes, which is about 2 minutes under what I normally process at. I will do this again next week to give myself additional practice before my relaxer the first week in December.

Here’s how that looked (sorry, the conditioner pretty much disappeared by this point) … oh well, you can enjoy some new growth!)

photo 2

So here’s how Wash Day went down:

Pre-Poo: Coconut oil, safflower oil and cheap conditioner for 1 hr 15 minutes, 40 minutes with heat

Shampoo: Amla Legends Body Filler Wash and Alterna Caviar Volume

In-Shower Conditioning Treatment: Ion Extreme Moisture Cream and Alterna Winter Rx Thermal Oil

Deep Conditioner: L’Oreal Total Repair 5 Balm for 1 hr, 40 minutes with heat, final rinse with Roux

Leave-Ins: Alterna Caviar Photo Age Defense, Alterna Caviar Texture Cream, Carol’s Daughter Monoi Anti-Breakage Spray and Carol’s Daughter Monoi Sacred Strengthening Serum

After detangling as normal, I began doing the steps the video showed me. I divided my hair into four quadrants and began twisting in the back. For each twist, I detangled with my fine-tooth comb (like I would if I was roller setting), applied Ion Anti-Frizz Solutions Styling Mist (will do a product review soon!). I twisted 2/3 of the way down, then applied a bit more gel, smoothed by ends, then rolled on the rod. I started in the back, so I did not do flat twists, but across the front, all of my twists were flat. It took me about 50 minutes to twist up my whole head, which is what it takes me to roller set.

I sat under the dryer for an hour and 10 minutes. I was nowhere near dry so I decided that I would have to sleep in them because I did not want to sit under the dryer for 3 hours. Despite me being eager to see the results, it wasn’t all that important! I did take one twist down and saw the end of my hair that I left out was good and curly! My hair also did not feel stiff from the gel. If you notice in the pictures below, you can see where my twists don’t start at the crown. I noticed that Donedo’s didn’t either, and her hair still turned out perfect. Maybe it will work for me!

photo 1 photo 3 (10)

I will take and post photos of the finished product tomorrow. Until then, have a great evening!

P.S. Hooray! I finally took advantage of picture gridding!

Next day:

Greetings guys! I got up this morning and took down my twists! Before I took them down, I made sure my twists and hands had serum on them to prevent frizz. I fluffed them a bit and took a look! The curls were perfect! They were springy and bouncy. I really think the gel helped keep them that way. It’s amazing how tight the curls are though! My BSL/MBL length hair is now at neck length! I really wish my hair would stand up into a ‘fro, but I know it won’t!

I pineappled the curls so that they are not hanging down rubbing against things. I am not sure how I plan to wear the curls. I will wear them pinned up or ponytailed. I will take some pictures of the styles I create during the week.

photo (9) photo (2)

4 thoughts on “Wash Day and a Twist Out

    • Thank you, Yvonne! I love the curl definition, too!! I have been pulling on these curls all week, just to have them bounce back! I will even say “boing!” I have always wanted big, loopy curls and now I have them!

      Yes to the relaxer practice! My next Wash Day will be my “Relaxer Prep” one! I am doing my relaxer towards the end of next week. Honestly, this relaxer stretch has flown by! I can’t even believe that I am almost 13 weeks post and that’s its time for another one! I could probably stretch until mid-December, but nah …. I like to keep on that 13-14 week schedule!

      How’s it going across the pond?

Leave a Reply

