Product Review: Carol’s Daughter Monoi Repairing Anti-Breakage Spray

Hi guys! I wanted to pop in and do a quick product review on my latest CD purchase.

As you may have seen, I have fallen in love with Carol’s Daughter Monoi Sacred Strengthening Serum. My hair has become so much stronger since I started using it, with my breakages at the end becoming very minimal. Also, I discovered that my hair likes a light protein leave-in on each Wash Day. I had a 20% off coupon for Ulta on any product, so I decided it would be a great time to try it!

What it is:
A leave-in conditioner that creates the perfect balance to fight shedding, ease detangling, and protect hair.

What it is formulated to do:
Stop snapping and start growing with this fortifying leave-in conditioner, made with strengthening monoi oil—a nutrient-rich blend of vitamins and minerals. When shaken, the blend creates the perfect balance to fight shedding, ease detangling, and offer long-lasting protection your hair, resulting in less breakage and stronger, longer hair.

Key Ingredients

-Monoi Oil: Strengthens, conditions, and moisturizes.
-Coconut Water: Protects and improves hair health.
-Wheat Protein: Strengthens and conditions.

Ingredients

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Isododecane, Pentylene Glycol, Agave Americana Leaf Extract, Butylene Glycol, C11-15 Pareth – 7, C12–16 Pareth – 9, Coconut (Cocos Nucifera) Fruit Juice, Coconut Oil, Cymbopogon Schoenanthus Extract, Dicetyldimomium Chloride, Disodium EDTA, Gardenia Tahitensis Flower Extract, Glycerin, Hydrolyzed Protein, Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch, Lactic Acid, Methyl Gluceth-20, Panthenol, PEG-8 Dimethicone, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Leaf Extract, Theobroma Cocoa Extract, Trideceth-12, Trimethylsiloxyamodimethicone, Methylisothiazolinone, Potassium Sorbate, Fragrance.

Source: Sephora.com

My Thoughts

The smell is very similar to the Sacred Serum; it smells very much like leis, which I like as I used to be an island girl! You have to shake the product before use, as I assume that the ingredients can separate while it is just sitting. It is to be used as a leave-in on wet hair. It is a very light spray (I will include some pics my next Wash Day) and doesn’t weigh the hair down or make hair appear greasy or limp when wet. I have noticed that my hair is easier to detangle since using this product, especially when I am doing my roller sets.

The first week I was very watchful over the amount of hair that would break during my daily M&S sessions, just to ensure that my hair wasn’t having an adverse reaction to any of the ingredients (my hair is a great gauge of how my hair feels about certain products) and there was no additional breakage or dryness … so the product stays (which is good because I gave my fave light protein leave-in, my ApHogee Green Tea Keratin Restructurizer, to a co-worker to try!)

I am quite happy to have found such good products with Carol’s Daughter, but I don’t think I will be trying anything else from the Monoi line. I have shampoo, conditioners and deep conditioners that I really like, so I will just stick to her styling products.

I recommend it … but it you want to try it before you take the plunge … hit up Sephora and beg for samples like I do!

It retails for $24 for 5 oz.

carols-daughter-monoi-repairing-anti-breakage-spray-d-2013081318074459~258639

 
 
2 thoughts on “Product Review: Carol’s Daughter Monoi Repairing Anti-Breakage Spray

Leave a Reply

