Hair Updates and a Hiatus

Greetings guys! It’s been a while, hasn’t it? I have been busy with both my professional and personal lives, so blogging has taken a back seat!

I wanted to share a quick hair update before explaining my upcoming blogging hiatus!

This past weekend, I met my cousin, DaJuan and Kim (yes, the one who does my hair!) in Las Vegas for a Dirty 30 celebration. We had a ball, do you hear me?? DaJuan, who comes from a family of lucky gamblers, won $500 on the Michael Jackson slot machine at Mandalay Bay! We stayed with MJ all weekend, who I guess wasn’t willing to give out too many other coins during our stay. I won $40 on that machine and a few bucks elsewhere! At least I didn’t lose all my gambling money! I won’t spill too much tea, as the mantra “What Happens in Vegas, Stays in Vegas” applies!

I wanted to wear my hair straight, so I knew I would have to get up Saturday morning before my flight to blow it out. I did an overnight pre-poo with coconut oil, safflower oil and Carol’s Daughter Monoi Repairing Hair Mask, which I received as a sample from Sephora. I got up and washed with Amla Legends Body Hair Filler and Alterna Caviar Volume. I deep conditioned for an hour with KeraPro Restorative Treatment since it gives me that perfect balance of moisture and protein, which is what one needs before their hair is hit with some direct heat! My leave-ins were: Alterna Caviar Photo Age Defense, Alterna Caviar Perfect Blowout Creme, ApHogee Green Tea Keratin Restructurizer and Carol’s Daughter Monoi serum. I blew my hair out in small sections on low and cool, which took me about 35 minutes. I didn’t want any bumps or bends, so I tied a scarf around my edges and wore it down on the plane.

Before Kim flat ironed my hair, I applied Alterna Bamboo Smooth Anti-Breakage Thermal Protectant Spray, which I reserve for my blow outs. Instead of doing curls just at the ends of my hair, Kim did these gorgeous barrel curls. I was in love! At first I was worried about how I would maintain them, but I found that applying a little of my Alterna Bamboo Luminous Shine Mist and gently twisting the hair into two big twists (imagine two pigtails, but twisted) and pinning them up with two duckbill clips preserved my style. I also wore my hair pinned up when we were out for the day, only to have gorgeous curls by evening time! I also had to spray some DevaCurl No-Poo Quick Cleanser Dry Shampoo on my hair daily, as it smelt like cigarette smoke! I do believe Las Vegas is the last bastion of a smoker’s paradise in the US … people even smoked in the clubs!! I swear I got lung cancer just by letting my hair down!

I asked Kim how I could recreate these curls without heat and she suggested I do a roller set as normal, then gently spray the ends of the hair with water (taking advantage of that hydrogen bonding) and roll the hair half-way with flexi-rods. I need to buy some smaller flexis, but I do believe I will be doing that in the next few weeks.

Now for the hiatus! I will be stepping away from blogging for a little while. It shouldn’t be more than 4 weeks (as I get my relaxer then), but I want to refocus some of my energy to other hobbies, such as reading! I am a history nerd, so I have started reading some political history books, mainly about two of our Founding Fathers. I would like to finish two books by the end of the year “John Adams” and “Thomas Jefferson: The Art of Power.” These are not small books, either. They are both over 600 pages! I get most of my reading done while under the dryer, which was formerly dedicated to blogging.

Until next time, friends!

Here are some pictures of our first night in Vegas. My self-given nickname on the trip was “The Duchess,” for my Duchess Catherine-esq curls!

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3

4 thoughts on “Hair Updates and a Hiatus

Leave a Reply

