Dry Shampooing!! (UPDATE!!)

I was talking with a co-worker today after another fun and intense Focus T25 workout about why and how I use dry shampoo on my hair.

Unless there is some special circumstance (e.g. excessive sweat or heat), I do not wash or co-wash my hair more than 2x a week. Now that I am trying to avoid faux air-drying my hair to cut down on breakage on my ends, that means that I will wash my hair once a week, because I damn sho’ will not be rolling my hair twice a week! Sweat that remains on hair can cause itchy scalps and the salt from sweat can cause hair to be dry, not to mention it causes hair to be stringy and limp!

So what’s a girl to do to avoid stringy, sweaty, oily hair while maintaining a demanding physical regimen? Dry shampoo!!! Dry shampoo helps remove excess oils, debris and sweat from your hair without it having to get wet. For the most part, dry shampoos come in powder form in aerosol cans or bottles with nozzles so that the product is concentrated to where you want it.

Oftentimes, the instructions are simple: apply to desired area, let product soak in hair for a few minutes, then blot or comb through and style as desired!

I use Kenra Platinum Dry Shampoo, which is available at Ulta in 2 sizes, but here are other ones based on their price. I use the dry shampoo about once a week, mid-way through the week when my hair is looking like strings, but as always, do what works for you and your hair!

Bargain (less than $10)

Suave Professionals Dry Shampoo Spray ($4 at drug stores, grocery stores and mass retailers)

Dove Hair Therapy Refresh and Care Dry Shampoo ($5 at drug stores, grocery stores and mass retailers)

Tresemme Fresh Start Dry Shampoo ($6 at drug stores, grocery stores and mass retailers)

Ion Dry Shampoo ($7 at Sally’s Beauty Supply)

Mid-Range ($10-$20)

Klorane Gentle Dry Shampoo with Oat Milk ($18 online)

DevaCurl No-Poo Quick Cleanser ($20 at Ulta and Sephora)

Drybar Detox Dry Shampoo ($20 at Sephora)

Kenra Platinum Dry Shampoo ($20 at Ulta)

Prestige ($21+)

Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Dry Shampoo ($22 at Ulta and Sephora)

Bumble and bumble White Hair Powder ($35 at Sephora)

Oscar Blandi Pronto Dry Shampoo Invisible Spray ($25 at Ulta and Sephora)

Here’s how I dry shampoo my hair! Please keep in mind that the main objective for me dry shampooing is to remove oil, dirt and sweat from my hair, not to salvage a style! Due to my workout schedule, my hair is mostly bunned, so this works for me! If you are looking to have a whole new style and take advantage of hydrogen bonding, then a full wash is for you!

1. This is my hair before I applied the dry shampoo! It’s a bit oily and sweated out!

photo 2photo 3

2. I shake the bottle and spray on my hair, moving quickly and spraying my roots, the length and the ends. I scrunch the product throughout my hair, focusing on massaging my scalp. I then pin my hair up to let the product dry for about 15 minutes.

photo 1 photo 2

3. Danger! If you don’t rub the product in good enough or spray one area too long, you may get white areas in your hair! These are easily removed by taking a damp rag and gently rubbing it until it disappears!

photo 3

4. This is the end result. My hair has a bit more volume to it and it doesn’t feel as oily. Now it will go in a bun, ready for tomorrow’s bootcamp! 🙂

photo 4 photo 5

10/5/2013

I noticed I was running low on my Kenra Platinum Dry Shampoo and decided to get some more. I didn’t want to pay $22 for a large can of it, so I headed to Sally’s and Target to see what bargain brands they had. They had plenty, but as I was reading the ingredients on a few of the brands, I noticed all but one (Tresseme) had propane as a top ingredient. Uh, that’s no bueno. I do not think I want to be spraying propane on my hair. I definitely do not recall Kenra having propane listed, so I decided to pass!!! I guess higher-end brands have no propane in them. I went to Sephora today and bought a small size of DevaCurl No Poo Quick Cleanser to see if I will like it. The lady at Sephora said they just got it in, so she hasn’t had a chance to use it yet. I will do a quick product review in the middle of the week!

4 thoughts on “Dry Shampooing!! (UPDATE!!)

  1. I meant to ask you about the dry shampoo. I think I saw you mention it on another post. I wondered if that worked for you. You’re like me, I’m not trying to wash and rollerset my hair more than once a week and I don’t like air drying too much. I wondered if dry shampoo is a good alternative. I can’t even wrap my mind around the concept of “dry cleaning” your hair. LOL!! Have you done a review on the Kenra?

Leave a Reply

