Autumn Shedding and a Garlic Treatment!

Ugh! I thought that I would make a quick post about autumn shedding! It seems that it is a common complaint around the blogosphere as of late!

Honestly, I thought that I had avoided it since I have not had an excessive shedding episode since late August. This weekend I lost a nice amount of hair during my Wash Day and when I pulled my hair into a ponytail this morning, I couldn’t help but notice it looked a bit thinner. This could be for two reasons:

1. I cross-wrapped my hair instead of pin-curling it, so my ponytail is longer and thinner.

2. I need to do a garlic treatment this weekend!!

I know shedding spells don’t last too long, but still, I want to mitigate the amount of shedding I have, so I think that this weekend I will do my garlic treatment!

So, here is my garlic treatment for anyone suffering from excessive shedding! It worked for me last year …

You will need:

10-12 cloves of garlic
8-16oz of EVOO or another type oil (I also used sesame)

I am cooking mine in my slow cooker. I am sure this can be prepared on the stovetop as well.

Directions

1. Cut up cloves of garlic. If you do not know how to do this, please google it.

20120908-192849.jpg

2. Mash up garlic with knife, mincer or whatever is handy. I used my potato masher!!

20120908-192948.jpg

3. Put desired oil in crock pot or pot on stovetop.

20120908-193059.jpg

4. Let simmer for about 3 hours to give the garlic time to infuse into the oil.

20120908-193137.jpg

5. Let cool for as long as needed.

6. Pour oil into a bottle with applicator. You can chose to strain the garlic out or not, but since it’s going into a noozled bottle, garlic chunks shouldn’t hit your hair!!

20120908-235535.jpg

20120908-235633.jpg

7. Apply to scalp. Cover with plastic bag. Let sit on for about 30 minutes. This is a great prepoo treatment. LOOK AT HOW BLACK MY HAIR WAS LAST FALL! NOW IT HAS TURNED BROWN AND RED! 🙂

20120909-094320.jpg

20120909-094351.jpg

8. Wash, condition and apply leave-ins as usual. Note: due to the drying properties of garlic, it is recommended that you incorporate a deep conditioner treatment into your wash day.

Notes:

– Left over oil can be stored in the fridge for about a week.
– You can add this mixture (strained, of course) to shampoos or conditioners for a garlicky boost!
– Essential oils such as lavender, eucalyptus and tea tree can be added to mask the scent.

8 thoughts on “Autumn Shedding and a Garlic Treatment!

      • Hahahah! No worries! Yes, this stuff is potent when it comes to smell!! What oil are you using?

        I think I am going to go with a green tea rinse this weekend and if that doesn’t work, I will bring out the big guns (garlic treatment). I am not losing too much hair this week, so hopefully it will work! Fingers crossed!

  1. Thanks alot for for this recipe i was researching and google got me here. I tried Alter Ego Hot Oil Deep Conditioner Treatment in the past it worked for a bit, after awhile my hair got use to the chemicals it is a bit pricey. Creating your own mix is better for longer lasting results. I will be trying this tomorrow with some cheap vo5 conditioner adding virgin coconut oil, olive oil, casteroil and eucalyptus oil. Hope it works!

Leave a Reply

