Back with the Jump Off … Wash Day!

Like my favorite vlogger Funky Dineva says: “I’ve been gone for a minute, but now I’m back with the jump off!” I have not posted about much of anything since I’ve been back from NC. I’ve just had some other things going on and my hair took a back seat!

So what’s the tea with my hair? Nothing much! It feels like it is a bit thinner (or maybe I should say it lacks volume), but maybe it’s due to the excessive shedding from last month, or maybe it’s just all in my head. Last week I did my Clairol Radiance Colorgloss in clear to give it a bit more oomph since that Mizani conditioner didn’t do jack for my hair as my mid-step protein treatment!

Yesterday, I started my Wash Day at 4:30pm. I always start in the morning, but yesterday, we had errands to do and so I wasn’t able to get started until late. Here’s how it went down:

Pre-Poo: Manuka honey, mystery conditioner that I was sent as part of a survey panel to try (I think it’s a Pantene product), coconut oil and safflower oil with heat for 40 minutes

Shampoo: L’Oreal Total Repair 5 Shampoo

In-Shower Conditioning: L’Oreal Total Repair 5 Conditioner

Deep Conditioner: L’Oreal Total Repair 5 Damage-Erasing Balm with heat for 50 minutes

Leave-Ins: Alterna Caviar Photo Defense, Alterna Caviar Texture, ApHogee Green Tea Keratin Reconstructor and Carol’s Daugther Minoi Oil

As you can see, I was featuring the L’Oreal Total Repair line this Wash Day. My mom gave me a sample of each of the products when I was home in September, which I happily accepted. I used this stuff for a Wash Day back in July and was pretty impressed and I must say, this time was no different! I am going to get the L’Oreal Total Repair 5 Damage-Erasing Balm for sure! It has amodimethicone in it, but that is one silicone that my hair doesn’t seem to mind, as it is another one of my favorite conditioners.

L’Oreal Total Repair 5 Damage-Erasing Balm ($7 at most grocery stores and mass-merchandisers) and hair I lost after roller setting (it’s getting back to normal!)

photo 1photo 2

Last week, it took my hair almost two hours to dry and I was pissed! This Wash Day, I decided to roll majority of my hair using the 2 1/2 inch black rollers. These rollers also snag my hair because of its seaming, so I decided to finally make use of the end rolling papers I bought almost 2 years ago and have barely touched. I was on the speakerphone gossiping while I was rolling, so I can’t really say how long it took me. Oh how time flies when you are getting some tea! πŸ˜‰

Using the big rollers paid off! It only took me about an hour and 15 minutes to dry instead of the minimum 90 minutes! I took the rollers out, applied a few drops of Carol’s Daughter Minoi Oil, wrapped it up around my head with my boar bristle brush and sat back under the dryer on cool for about 12 minutes, then unwrapped! I have decided that I am not going to be blowing out the volume out of my roller sets each week. For one, I don’t want to be using direct heat on a weekly basis and secondly, I like volume!

Oh my goodness. It felt soooooooooooo much better than the past 2 roller sets. My ends didn’t immediately get crunchy and wayward! I was really worried that I was going to have to go in for a cut because my ends just didn’t seem to cooperate and wouldn’t hold a curl after I wrapped my hair! Now I have proof that it was the Living Proof products that was causing it! I wrapped my hair back up, tied with a satin scarf, covered with a satin cap and slept on my satin pillowcase … because a girl can never be too careful!

I wore it down this am to take my dog to the vet and get my iPhone looked at … boy was that a mistake! The wind was something fierce today and by the time I got back home, my hair was all over the place. I decided to do my first ever modified roller set, which will “refresh curls” that may have fallen and put the bounce back into roller sat hair.

I grabbed about six of my black rollers and duckbill clips. I grabbed sections that were big enough to fit on the roller (rubbing a little Vitamin E oil on each section), rolled and then secured with a duckbill clip. I kept them in while I updated my iPhone to the iOS 7 (which I am living for right now!!!) and did some things around the house. I took them out after about 3 hours and had my curls back!

photo 3

I took a few pics after getting caught in the wind and rain (again!!), so my hair isn’t styled the best and some of my curls have fallen! It’s all good. I just came in the house and threw the rollers back in. I just wanted to show the thickness of my hair from root to tip right now and the U shape right now.

photo 4photo 5

Until next time, friends! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Back with the Jump Off … Wash Day!

  1. oh the thickness of your hair, its something else, really loving it!!! I have been reading about colourgloss, cause you always talk about it and how it benefited your ends!
    Oh I love the roller setting and speakerphone gossiping, oh it really does cut the wash day in half!

    • Thank you! I am not sure if you saw it another post, but I thanked my dad for my genes because I get it from him! I have a picture of his sister’s hair and it is almost tailbone length and thick from root to tip! I definitely won’t grow that long, though!

      Yes, I am going to recommend Colorgloss. I got Redken Shades EQ (another gloss-type product) back in March and noticed my ends weren’t breaking as much. I saw in the Science of Black Hair that glosses and rinses can help patch up porous ends, so I have committed myself to doing them every 3 months.

      And I will tell you one thing, I don’t share my “tea” (which is gossip or information), but I don’t mind spilling and sharing others (how bad of me)!!!

      How’s it going across the pond??

Leave a Reply

