Relaxer Day!

Greetings guys! I am finally back in Oregon and able to do a extended post about my relaxer day on September 1, 2013! Here  goes:

– I based my scalp with Isoplus Castor oil grease and applied my mom’s mixture of coconut oil, castor oil and EVOO from my roots to tips in 6 sections.

– Kim applied the Mizani Butter Blends relaxer and I left it in for about 17 minutes. We were using the Mizani Butter Blends Relaxer System (read more about it here), so after she rinsed out the relaxer, she used the Perphecting Creme Normalizing Conditioner, which is designed to neutralize and strengthen hair immediately after the relaxer. I left that on my hair for about 5 minutes (I am not sure that this mid-step protein treatment was as good as using ApHogee’s 2 minute keratin treatment. I didn’t feel that my hair had the volume I get with using that stuff. I don’t plan on using the Mizani conditioner again as my mid-step protein). After that, she used the Balance Hair Bath Neutralizing and Chelating Shampoo. The thing I didn’t like about the shampoo was that it was not color-activated, which means it was not pink (or another color) in the presence of relaxer. For the initial wash, I left the shampoo on for 5 minutes so it could have more of a chance to neutralize. I had her wash my hair with this shampoo twice and followed up with the Isoplus neutralizer to make sure all traces of the relaxer were gone.

– I deep conditoned with Ion Extreme Moisture cream and Redken All-Soft using my hot turban and shower cap for about 20 minutes under the dryer.

– My leave-ins for my blow drying session were: Alterna Photo Defense, Alterna Blow Out Cream (which is running quite low) and Living Proof Prime Style Extender.

– After my hair was blow dried, I applied Alterna Bamboo Smooth Anti-Breakage Thermal Protectant spray. It has dimethicone as the fifth ingredient, but I loved this stuff! I didn’t experience any breakage after using it (maybe because I washed 2 days after using it). I also applied Living Proof Satin serum (silicone-free). Kim flat ironed my hair a few hours after it was blown out.

I noticed that my ends looked a bit rough and weren’t holding a curl well, so I clipped about 1/2 inch in some places. I CANNOT STAND RAGGEDY ENDS. DID YOU HEAR THAT? NO RAGGEDY ENDS! My hair looked so much better once I did!

I have to admit … while I look forward to getting my hair relaxed, it is also causes me great stress! We all hear about the woman who had her hair fall out due to a bad relaxer! I say a prayer before my relaxer and hope everything goes OK! Well, all-in-all, this relaxer day was a success!

Below are the final results.

Hair blown out – longest hairs are right at MBL!

20130901-042205.jpg

 

Hair I lost during the relaxing process … not too bad

 

20130901-042210.jpg

Hair flat ironed … the bra is at waist length

20130901-042225.jpg

Me after a long night at this ratchet club where I just wanted to go home and eat pizza and sleep!! 

20130901-042219.jpg

 

4 thoughts on “Relaxer Day!

  1. Pingback: Hair Updates and Rumblings: NC Edition | hair, there and everywhere!

Leave a Reply

