Wash Day

My hair has been pretty non-exciting for the past two weeks (to be honest, my hair is very rarely “exciting,” I bun, wear it down, clip up, put in ponytail, hence the reason this blog site is NOT the one to look at for new and exciting styles!) I have still been maintaining my workout regimen that involves me getting pretty sweaty. I try to co-wash at least once or twice a week to give my hair some much-needed moisture. I have just been doing the faux air-dry method (when the hair dries hanging down under the hair dryer, tied back with a scarf) and putting it up into a bun or ponytail. Yesterday was my full-scale Wash Day. Here’s how it went:

Pre-Poo: Coconut Oil/Hempseed Oil/V-05 conditioner and hot oil treatment on scalp with heat for 40 minutes

Wash: Amla Legends Body FIller, Alterna Life Solutions Scalp Therapy, Alterna Caviar Volume

In-Shower Conditioning: Redken All-Soft. Ion Extreme Moisture Cream

Deep Conditioning: Alterna Caviar Moisture conditioner with heat for 45 minutes, final rinse with Roux Porosity Control for 3 minutes

Leave-Ins: Alterna Caviar Texture Cream, Roux 619, Alterna Caviar White Truffle Elixir, kukui nut oil

I am pretty leery of having to co-wash my hair 1-2 times a week because that means that manipulate my hair when it’s wet (and the weakest), but seriously, the sweat that has been pouring out of my head will probably do more damage than detangling will! Sweat is very drying to the hair and often times my hair is just soaking in it, especially after finishing bootcamp or Insanity. I can get away with not co-washing during the week if my hair has been roller set, but not when I do the faux air drying method. This method just makes my hair more prone to dryness and moisture loss, which is why I have to be very diligent about M&Sing daily using the L-O-C method (I use water for the Liquid, kukui nut oil for the Oil, and Amla Legends 1001 Oils Night Wrap Cream for the Cream).

Just in case you are wondering what kind of work-outs I do, here is what’s typical in a week:

Monday: run stairs for 15 minutes, lift weights (focusing on specific body part)

Tuesday: run stairs for 15 minutes, lift weights (focusing on specific body part)

Wednesday: Insanity video (40 minutes)

Thursday: boot camp for 60 minutes

Friday: run stairs for 15 minutes, lift weights (focusing on specific body part)

Saturday: Insanity video (40 minutes)

Sunday: rest (or make up day if I missed a workout during the week)

I also sprinkle pilates and ab work in when possible!

 

Here’s some pics of my faux air dried hair. Even though I sacrifice the appearance of length, I get some awesome volume!!!

20130819-120453.jpg

20130819-120459.jpg

20130819-120505.jpg

2 thoughts on “Wash Day

Leave a Reply

