Sample Alert and Product Review: Living Proof Restore Targeted Repair Cream

Today I was able to head to Sephora because we had a training in downtown Portland. I went in there and discussed what I was looking for in a creamy leave-in to replace my Alterna Caviar Texture cream. The guy who helped me was so helpful! I told him I am interested in knowing more about the Living Proof line and that I have a few of their products, including a moisturizer from frizz line. I told him that moisture retention is my biggest concern and he suggested that I try the restore line.

Living Proof said this about the restore line:

“Moisture flows in and out of our hair all day long. In healthy hair, the cuticles covering each strand automatically adjust to keep hair hydrated. But damage from heat styling, chemical treatments, coloring, sun exposure and even every day styling weakens cuticles so moisture levels go unregulated. Strands swell and contract until hair’s structure literally begins to break down. Brittleness, dullness and more damage—it’s not a pretty sight. Silicones and oils, the foundation of all conventional hair care products, don’t effectively block moisture flux. So our scientists decided to invent a hair care line that would.”

He suggested that I try the Targeted Repair Cream and gave me two vials to try. After reading the product description, I don’t know why I didn’t go to this product before the frizz cream, but I will definitely have a use for both of them if I like the sample he gave me!

Here’s the product description: A moisture-rich cream for use on wet and dry hair that instantly adds shine, smooths cuticles and repairs split ends. The Targeted Repair Cream replaces lost ceramides to restructure, strengthen and seal the protective outer layer of the hair. Prevents 93% of new split ends. Plus all day UV damage protection.

And here are the ingredients (notice how Living Proof lists the purpose of each ingredient!): Water/Eau/Aqua (Solvent), Cetyl Alcohol (Emulsion Stabilizer, Conditioning Agent), Glycerin (Conditioning Agent/Humectant), Isoamyl Laurate (Emollient, Conditioning Agent), Octafluoropentyl Methacrylate (OFPMA) (Moisture-Controlling Active), Behentrimonium Methosulfate (Conditioning Agent), Oleyl Alcohol (Conditioning Agent), Butylene Glycol (Conditioning Agent), Glycol Stearate (Conditioning Agent/Opacifier), Astrocaryum Tucuma Seed Butter (Conditioning Agent), Behenyl/Stearyl Aminopropanediol Esters (Cuticle Repair Agent), Dimethylpabamidopropyl Laurdimonium Tosylate (UV Filter), Hydrolyzed Silk (Conditioning Agent), Fragrance/Parfum (Fragrance), Hydroxyethylcellulose (Thickening Agent), Steareth-10 (Emulsifier), Steareth-2 (Emulsifier), Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Methylisothiazolinone (Preservative), Limonene (Fragrance Component), Hexyl Cinnamal (Fragrance Component), Linalool (Fragrance Component), Citronellol (Fragrance Component), Butylphenyl Methylpropional (Fragrance Component), Citral (Fragrance Component), Geraniol (Fragrance Component)

I will be using it as a leave-in for my roller set this weekend! Stay tuned for a review!

Here’s some pics:

photo 1 photo 2

UPDATE ON 8/24: It seems that my hair does not really like this stuff. I applied it to both wet and dry hair (as it can be used) and it just didn’t seem to do anything for my hair, so I will not be buying this stuff. How I knew my hair didn’t like it was when I applied it to my freshly blow-dried hair that was properly M&Sed and within a few minutes of putting this product on, my hair looked very dry and wiry. I promptly put my Amla Legends 1001 Oils Night Wrap Cream on and it helped. NAWL … I can’t have that expensive product messing up my hair!

That’s sad, because the premise of the product was damn good!!!! Oh well … if it doesn’t work on my hair, it doesn’t work! NEXT!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

