Wash Day

Greetings! Saturday was Wash Day! I wanted to try out my new Living Proof products, so I thought I would do a roller set to see how the line performed during a wet set, which I will go back to doing weekly once fall gets here! (Viva la Summer!)

I wanted to remove any trace of silicones left behind, so I clarified with my Alterna Life Solutions Clarifying Poo. Here’s what else I did:

Pre-Poo: Coconut Oil and Safflower Oil for 30 minutes with heat

Wash: clarify, Alterna Caviar Volume shampoo

In-Shower Conditioning Treatment: Redken All-Soft

Deep Conditioning: Alterna Caviar Conditioner for 30 minutes with heat, final rinse with Roux Porosity Control for 3 minutes

Leave-Ins: Living Proof Prime Style Extender, Living Proof frizz Nourishing Cream, Living Proof Satin Serum

Moisturizer for Blow-Out: Amla Legends 1001 Oils Night Wrap Cream

Final Serum: Living Proof Satin Serum (and kukui nut oil for shine)

It only took me 47 minutes to roll my hair on Saturday, which is normal time for me! It definitely was not as headache-inducing as last week when I had to re-roll entire sections! There were a few that needed to be re-rolled, but I was able to do so quickly.

I sat under the dryer for about 90 minutes. it’s a crying shame that I have to sit there so long, but even at the salon with shoulder length hair, I didn’t get up before 60 minutes was up, and many times my hair wouldn’t be all the way dry. I just entertain myself with catching up on blogs, watching videos and looking out the window! LOL!

So everything turned out great! I blew my roots out, moisturized with Amla Legend 1001 Oils Night Wrap cream, wrapped my hair and sat under the dryer for 10 more minutes.

I noticed that my hair was not as shiny as it was last week, which was probably due to the fact the products that I used were loaded with cones. The Living Proof Serum contains no oils or silicones, so there probably went any artificial shine I wanted! My hair, however, felt very light, soft and moisturized. To add a bit of shine to my hair, I ran a little kukui nut oil over it and that did the trick! I M&Sed Sunday night and there was no breakage. I will be continuing to monitor breakage throughout the week to see how my hair is taking to the 2 new products. I think my hair will like Living Proof, but now I am curious about Keratase products (sigh … if I can get samples, then I may try it *screams at product junkie self*).

Well, ta ta for now!!! Next Wash Day will be this Thursday because Nathan and I are hitting the road for Southern Oregon and California this weekend. I will NOT be doing a roller set, but my normal air-drying number. I will probably roller set once more before my relaxer, which will be the Wash Day immediate to it on Sunday, August 25th.

I will say that I am proud that I have not used direct heat on my hair since my last relaxer back in early June! Now that I can do a rather nice blowout giving me a sleek look and thereby avoiding flat irons, I feel confident that I can reduce their usage down to only at relaxer time so I can do an official length check.

Until next time, take care! 🙂

Leave a Reply

