Wash Day and It Takes Me FOREVER to Roll, Roll, Pull!

Greetings this lovely Saturday! Today I decided to roll my hair, as I was excited to try out what I learned on the Healthy Textures Rollersetting tutorial.

Here’s how it went:

Pre-Poo: Coconut Oil and Hemp Seed Oil for 1 hr (30 with heat)

Shampoo: Alterna Life Solutions Clarifying, Alterna Caviar Moisture

In-Shower Conditioning: Redken All Soft

Deep Conditioning: KeraPro Restorative Treatment (I haven’t used it in a while and I think I could use a shot of protein) for 45 minutes with heat

Final Rinse: Roux Porosity Control for 2 minutes

Leave-Ins: Alterna Caviar Photo Defense, Alterna Bamboo Volume Plumping Strand Expand, GVP Smoothing Serum (NOTE: In the HT Rollersetting video, Gennifer said that using too many products can make it take longer for your hair to dry, especially moisturizers which work to keep moisture within the hair, so I decided to only use 2 leave-ins and a serum. Also, since I wanted my hair to be softer, I did not setting my hair with diluted Lotta Body … I just used plain ole water!)

photo (5)

Now for the rolling part … OMG! It took me almost an hour and 20 minutes to roll my hair today (compared to my normal 45 minutes)! The mohawk part started off OK. I just mumbled “roll, roll, pull!” for every section of hair I rolled, but it did not take me any longer than normal! I was able to clip the roller near the back of the roller, as Gennifer instructed. Then I got to the sides. 😦  In the video, Gennifer starts from the back and works her way forward. I thought that since I got the side part of rolling my hair down pat, I would just start at the front and go backwards. It was all good on my left side until I got to the back … there was no space for rollers and pieces of hair were “orphaned” without a roller to call their own! I had to take all of the rollers out and start all over again! As for the right side, my hair did not want to be clipped correctly, so I had to start over there as well! Today’s roller set was like a hard puzzle and I am not going to lie, there were times when I wanted to stop … but I kept on! Finally, I got to the last two rollers and they had mercy on me because they easily fell into place. Lord knows how much hair I lost having to continually comb my hair to put on the roller … thankfully I have enough to spare!

Despite the longer rollerset, I can totally tell my hair is tighter on the roller because: 1) I have a headache and 2) my roots appear much more straight on the roller.

Here are some pics with the rollers securely in my head and hair that came out while rollersetting:photo 1 photo 1 (18) photo 2 (16)

So it takes me about 90 minutes to dry (*insert crying face*). When I finally get to take the rollers out, I notice my hair is sooooooooo much softer and easier to manipulate than when I used setting lotion. I then proceed to use the round brush to blow out my roots. It’s definitely weird doing this after a roller set! After blowing out my hair, I began to wrap my hair. I used a small amount of creamy moisturizer like Gennifer (I used Amla Legends 1001 Oils Night Wrap) and began to wrap. My saran wrap roll is acting up, so I decided to go without. I wrapped my hair (careful not to use any pins or clips to hold it up, as I did not want any grooves in my hair) using my Hercules Sagemann widetooth comb and boar bristle brush. I applied a bit of Alterna Dry Kendi Oil Mist on the completed wrap and tied my hair up using my net and plunked back up under the dryer for 10 minutes (I used the cool setting to “set” the style and lock in moisture). I unwrapped my hair …  and here are the results:

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4 photo 1 photo 2 photo 3

The long work was totally worth it … these pictures do not do the style any justice! I am just sooooooooooo pleased! I could not stay out the mirror (I asked God to forgive me for my vanity … but He has seen my other rollersets so I am sure he gave me a pass!) I cannot say enough about Gennifer’s video for helping me to do my best rollerset ever! I really do not feel the need to go and get my hair flat ironed by anyone … as Gennifer’s video helped unlock the technique I have wanted to figure out for 18 months! My hair has the sleek look, yet has so much body!

Here are a few lessons that I learned during this roller set:

– Less product is more! My hair felt so much softer without the Lotta Body … I think I will rotate it out of my regimen for a while.

– Manipulating hair once in a while is a great thing! I used to fear doing anything to my hair after I took the rollers out for fear of ripping my hair out! I was a little anxious about using the round brush to blow my roots out and wrapping my hair, but it was painless …

– Patience pays off! I wanted to give up … but in the end, the results paid off! Like Jimmy V said: “Don’t ever give up!”

I anticipate I will roller set once or twice before my relaxer in 5 weeks!

 

One thought on “Wash Day and It Takes Me FOREVER to Roll, Roll, Pull!

  1. Pingback: Silicone Products and My Hair: A No Go! | hair, there and everywhere!

Leave a Reply

