Product Review: Amla Legend 1001 Oils Cream Night Wrap

This product review is long overdue, but hey … better late than never!

So as I wrote in May, Soft Sheen Carson sent me a box of their Amla Legend line to try. I immediately gave away the relaxer and the oil mositurizer, but kept everything else.

My favorite product out of the line thus far is the 1001 Oils Cream Night Wrap. This stuff is amazing! I was a little leery of it since it contained dimethicone, but it really has not been a problem for me (NOTE: I have been using shampoos with sulfates weekly for a while now, so I make sure to remove any cones on Wash Day). The product smells great, goes on smooth and really moisturizes my hair! I use it in the L-O-C method as the “C’ream or sometimes when I need a heavier moisturizer than my Alterna White Truffle Oil Elixir, I will just use this cream and some oil. Either way, my hair loves this product and it will definitely continue to be in my product rotation.

Here are the ingredients: AQUA/ WATER/ EAU, COCOS NUCIFERA OIL/ COCONUT OIL,ISOPROPYL MYRISTATE, CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE,STEARYL ALCOHOL,GLYCERIN,STEARETH-21, DIMETHICONE,STEARETH-2,PARFUM /FRAGRANCE,P R 0 PYLE N E G L Y C 0 L, p 0 L y A cRy LAM I 0 E I pH EN 0 X yET HAN 0 L, s 0 RBICA c I 0 I c 13-14 ISOPARAFFIN, XANTHAN GUM, LAURETH-7, BENlYL SALICYLATE, BENlYL ALCOHOL, HEXYL CINNAMAL, METHYLISOTHIAZOLINONE, Cl 19140/ YELLOW 5,LIMONENE,Cl15985 /YELLOW 6,PHYLLANTHUS EMBLICA FRUIT EXTRACT F.I.L.# DSS194/3

As you can see, the first ingredient is water, which is essential for a product to be “moisturizing.” The second ingredient is coconut oil, which has been added back to my oil supply (never to leave again!). Isopropyl myristate is a “synthetic oil” used in cosmetics as a lubricant and emollient. I was a bit leery of this ingredient due to it being a synthetic oil, but as I have said, my hair has not been damaged in any way (as far as I can tell) by using the product with this ingredient.

I definitely give this product an A, but I do want to point out that since it does have a synthetic oil and silicones in it, it may be important to use a gentle sulfate shampoo (I highly recommend the Amla Legends Body Filler Hair Wash) to prevent buildup on the hair shaft. Also, this product is pretty heavy and can cause fine or thin hair to go limp, so  a little goes a long way!

This line of products are relatively inexpensive and can be found at pretty much any BSS, drug store, or place that carries ethnic hair products!

Optimum Amla Legend 1001 Oils Cream Night Wrap Treatment 4oz

Leave a Reply

