Wash Day with Something Old and Something New!

I decided to do my Wash Day on Saturday this week! I have been rocking the straight hair too long (I get bored of straight hair quite easily) and wanted to try out my new hair dryer! I also added a bit of coconut oil (something old) to my pre-poo. Early in my hair journey, I used coconut oil to seal my ends and I was having severe breakage on my ends, so I sent it to my mom to try on her natural hair, along with anything I thought contained protein or sulfates! However, I have been reading posts about women use them as pre-poo treatments and how it helps with hygral fatigue (where hair strands have to expand and contract due to the water it’s taken in during washing and then drying, which can be traumatic to hair over time), so I decided to try it again. While I was home, I took a little bit of my mom’s coconut oil (which was technically mine), just to see if I would like it before committing to buying a container of it.

Pre-Poo: coconut oil (hygral fatigue) and safflower oil (ceramides) for 2 hrs.

Wash: Amla Legends Body Filler Hair Wash, Alterna Scalp Therapy, Alterna Caviar Moisture

In-Shower Conditioning Treatment: Ion Extreme Moisture Cream

Deep Conditioning: Alterna Caviar conditioner as steam treatment for 45 minutes

Final Rinse: Roux Porosity Control for 2 minutes

Leave-Ins: Alterna Caviar Photo Defense, Alterna Caviar Texture, Roux 619, ApHogee Keratin and Green Tea Reconstructor, diluted Lotta Body

My new dryer rocked (something new)! It did not dry me in 45 minutes (which I had hoped, but I do have longer hair), but in just over an hour, my hair was completely dry – from front to back!! The curls were crisp and defined, yet soft and moisturized. Normally, I will just fluff my curls out and wear “drop curls,” where I allow the curls to fall throughout the week. This week, I decided to do a rollerwrap, where I wrapped my hair and sat under the dryer on low for 10 minutes. It came out bouncy and shiny!

photo 1 photo 2

This is Monday’s comb out … my curls try to come back no matter how much I comb them out! For the rest of the week, it’s buns and updos for me!

photo 2 photo 3 photo 4 photo 5 photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4

Leave a Reply

