Hair Musings about Hawaii

Greetings from my home! I got back early Monday morning so I am trying to catch up on some much needed rest since I had a red-eye Sunday and lack of sleep on Monday night!

Well, where do I begin? My hair did horrible in Hawaii. It was so humid and hot, my hair just felt like dry straw by the end of each day! It was just a mess! I was so excited to get my hair done professionally for the first time in over a year, but that was short-lived. I was so worried when I made my initial appointment with Jeanne that I would not have enough new growth at 10 weeks post … boy, I was wrong! I have a lot of new growth that only lie down with heat or a headband. Anyhoo, Jeanne washed my hair with my beloved Alterna products and did a deep condition using the Alterna Cavair Hair Masque (I have not heard the best things about this product, so it’s not been in my rotation). She rolled my hair and I stayed under the dryer for about an hour. Jeanne took the rollers out and it was bountiful curls. I wish she would have pressed the roots out, but I digress. By the time I got back to Nathan’s dad’s house, they were puffy! I put some kukui nut oil on it and wrapped it up, hoping that it would come out sleek. It did, but as soon as I got outside in the humidity, my whole head was a mess. I was sooooooooo mad! I just paid $60 for nothing!! I didn’t even get a chance to take a picture!

Also, I was telling Jeanne about The Science of Black Hair and how I don’t brush my hair. She said “You should discard that book if someone tells you that! You need to brush your hair everyday to stimulate the scalp so your hair will grow!” Uh … OK? My hair has gone from right at shoulder length to past BSL in 15 months and I have not brushed my hair (other than to smooth edges and wrap my hair occasionally) since I began my HHJ! I told her that I use a shower comb and my hands to detangle and she said I need to brush my hair. There was a girl in the chair getting a relaxer (she looked biracial) and she referred to her and said “See?  She brushes her hair and it has grown!” Yeah, I thought, and she has a different type of hair. She probably made some jokes about it while they were at the bowl. I was a little turned off by that … especially since she didn’t even bother to hear what I had to say and she was so quick to dismiss it and talk over me. I know what works for me and how much thicker my hair is since I don’t brush anymore!

By the time Sunday came around, I was ready to come back to Oregon! I was exhausted, as the trip seemed like we were always running around to meet people instead of enjoying each other’s company and the island.

I got home Monday and had the Soft-Sheen Carson Amla Legend Oil line waiting for me! I requested the product line due to rave reviews from other bloggers and they were happy to oblige me!

Here are my initial thoughts of the contents:

Amla Legend No-Lye Relaxer – I will not use this. I do not use no-lye relaxers and I have also heard bad things about it. One blogger reported that it burned her scalp. I gave it to my co-worker to give to someone who may be interested in trying it.

– Amla Legend Damage Antidote Oil Moisturizer (Aqua/Water/Eau, Paraffinum Liquidum/Mineral Oil/Huile Minerale, Glycerin, Petrolatum, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cera Microcristallina/Microcrystalline Wax/ Cire Microcristalline, PEG-100 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Parfum/Fragrance, Phenoxyethanol, Polysorbate 60, Xanthan Gum, Dimethicone, Panthenol, Benzyl Salicylate, Benzyl Alcohol, Hexyl Cinnamal, 2-Oleamido-1.3-Octadecanediol, Methylisothiazolinone, CI 19140/Yellow 5, Limonene, CI 15985/Yellow 6, Phyllanthus Emblica Fruit Extract) – I hate the term “oil moisturizer,” because oils do not moisturize. This product seems like a revamped Pink Oil! It contains a host of bad ingredients, such as mineral oil and petroleum. I also gave this to my co-worker to try, with the disclaimer about the ingredients.

Amla Legend Body Filler Hair Wash (Aqua/Water/Eau, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocoamide MEA, Polysorbate 20, Sodium Chloride, Parfum/Fragrance, Phenoxyethanol, Polyquaternium-7, PPG-5-Ceteth-10 Phosphate, Potassium Sorbate, PEG/PPG/Polybutylene Glycol-8/5/3 Glycerin, Citric Acid, Benzyl Salicylate, Disodium EDTA, Benzyl Alcohol, Sodium Benzoate, Hexyl Cinnamal, Phenolsulfonephthalein, Phyllanthus Emblica Fruit Extract, Sodium Hydroxide) Meh … I am on the fence about this one. It contains sulfates. I will try it on weeks that I want a light clarifying treatment.

– Amla Legend Body Filler Hair Cream Conditioner (Aqua/Water/Eau, Glycerin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Polyquaternium-37, Propylene Glycol Dicaprylate, Parfum/Fragrance, Amodimethicone, PPG-1-Trideceth-6, Stearyl Dimethicone, Benzyl Salicylate, Chlorhexidine Dihydrochloride, Trideceth-6, Benzyl Alcohol, Hexyl Cinnamal, Cetrimonium Chloride, CI 19140/Yellow 5, CI 15985/Yellow 6, Phyllanthus Emblica Fruit Extract) This product has some decent ingredients such as glycerin and cetearyl alcohol,  so I think I will try this in the shower or as a pre-poo conditioner.

Amla Legend Billion Hair Potion (Aqua/Water/Eau, Glycerin, Arginine, PPG-5-Ceteth-12, Citric Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Parfum/Fragrance, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Benzyl Salicylate, Chlorhexidine Dihydrochloride, Benzyl Alcohol, Hexyl Cinnamal, 2-Oleamido-1, 3-Octadecanediol, CI 19140/Yellow 5, Phyllanthus Emblica Fruit Extract, CI 14700/Red, CI 17200/Red 33, CI 42090/Blue 1.) I have heard great things about this product in particular, which prompted me to ask for samples of the Amla line. I am using this as a sealing oil for now.

– Amla Legend 1001 Oils Cream Night Wrap (Water, Cocos Nucifera Oil/Coconut Oil, Isopropyl Myristate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Stearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Steareth-21, Dimethicone, Steareth-2, Fragrance, Propylene Glycol, Polyacrylamide, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Xanthan Gum, Laureth-7, Benzyl Salicylate, Benzyl Alcohol, Hexyl Cinnamal, Methylisothiazolinone, Yellow 5 (CI 19140), Yellow 6 (CI 15985), Phyllanthus Emblica Fruit Extract, F.I.L. D55194/3) – I am on the fence about this one …

4 thoughts on “Hair Musings about Hawaii

  1. I like the Amla Shampoo. I am a sulphate user, non sulphate was a disaster for my hair. My hair feels clean, but not stripped. Only thing I do not like is that it is a bit on the thin/runny side.

    The Conditioner didn’t do much for me. The moisturiser wasn’t spectacular. I also bought the relaxer but at the last moment decided not to use it. I wasn’t thrilled there was no protein conditioner to rebuild the hair.

    Unfortunately, I am yet to see the rest of the product line in my country. It’s probably a good thing as it will prevent me from becoming a product junkie.

    • What’s up lady!! I am waiting on some pics from your relaxer!! 😉

      I like the Amla Legends shampoo! You are right, it gives hair a good washing without stripping everything out of it despite it containing sulfates. My hair felt pretty good after using it today! I used the conditioner in my pre-poo today, so I can’t speak to what it did or did not do.

      I will say that I like the 1001 Oils Night Wrap Cream (or whatever it’s called) and the Billion Hair Oil! I have used them for the past five days with no drying, breaking, etc. I was a bit worried because the 1001 Oils Night Wrap has dimethicone in it, but so far, it hasn’t had showed any negative consequences on my hair. My hair feels good and moisturized!

      I am going to continue to use it for a while to see if I continue to like the results. I will keep you posted.

      Also, if you email them (contact them from their webpage) and tell them you are a hair blogger, I am sure they will be happy to send you the entire line to try. It seems like every blogger I read got the line!

  2. Im confused, why did you request the products if you didnt like the ingredients?

    I was wondering about the things you wrote about the humid weather in Hawaii? Isnt humid climate better for the hair Than dry hair? Or have you experienced the oposite? I ve always felt dry air being bad for My skin and hair.

    • Hi Li! Thnaks for your comment.

      I requested the products so I could try the Billon Hair Oil and 1001 Oils Night Wrap (which I love)! When requesting products, they normally will send you the entire line of products, so there were 2 items (the relaxer and the oil moisturizer) that I knew I wouldn’t use. I plan on using all the other ones though!!

      As for humidity in conjunction with hot weather, I can say that it has never done my hair any good! I live in Oregon now where it rains a lot and my hair loves it, but it’s generally because the temperatures are mild and not removing the moisture from my hair. However, my skin absolutely loves Hawaii and summer in general. Its always clearer than in the winter for some reason! 🙂

Leave a Reply

