Hair Announcements!

Greetings! This post is a bit overdue, but I have been busy doing non-hair things (sigh!!!)

So I have had several hair updates this past week:

1. I’M GETTING MY HAIR COLORED! – That’s the most exciting news of all! r. Lately, my hair just hasn’t been giving me life. It’s nice, but I feel that I am missing some long-lost pizzaz which only some color can bring! I used to be the queen of color back in college! It has been almost 5 years since I have had any type of color (semi-, permanent, demi-) in my hair because of the damage that was done when I wasn’t taking care of my hair.

I have been toying with the idea of coloring the top 1/3 of my hair. I have been too chicken to do it, but I researched some coloring techniques and decided to go with the Redken Shades EQ semi-permanent color. It won’t lift my hair, but it will add a touch of color and gloss to the area I choose to color. Since the area is already lightened in some areas, I think it will look good! I am going to do a honey brown and see how that works! I am getting it done tomorrow at Ulta along with a blow-out. This is a treat for all my hard work! Sarah will be doing it, so I am eager to see the end result!

2. I DID A TRIM! – Literally … I did the trim. It wasn’t due to breakage or anything, but Monday evening, I was M&Sing and said to myself: “Hmmm … I could lose the last 1/2 inch of these ends for my fresh blowout” so I went to the freezer where I keep my shears and did it. I cut the bottom layers even and now the V-shaped hair that I have been rocking for so long is now a U! I also wanted to trim the bottom layer evenly. This relaxer cycle I knew that I wanted to even things up a bit, so I figured now is as good a time as any. So now I am back to the area between BSB and BSL!

This photo makes it seem like the left side has see-through ends compared to the right. The reason for this is that the right side has more hair down that the left side, giving that illusion. (Ugh! I hate see-through ends!)

MARCH13CUT

Photo after Nathan finger combed hair … so again the ends look a bit wonky.

MARCH13CUT1

3. I am deferring my relaxer until June 1st – Since I am going to go to NC in June, I thought that I would just have Kim do it when I was 14 weeks post. I am just not comfortable relaxing my hair 10 weeks post. I don’t think that I will have enough new growth to even justify it (mind you, I am used to stretching 12 weeks or more, even when I wasn’t on a HHJ). I will just go to Jeanne and get a roller set and deep conditioning while in Hawaii.

4. I have been wearing my hair out! – I wear my hair out an average of 2.5 days a week (hahha!) I am really at the point where I enjoy my hair and why not show off the fruits of my labor?

Leave a Reply

