Wash Day! (and finally … a good roller set)

Greetings guys! Hope everyone is having a restful weekend despite losing an hour of sleep!

Today was Wash Day. I had to do some work from home today, so I needed to get busy earlier than later. This morning, I started off with a two-hour pre-poo of honey and kukui nut oil. I read that honey can help lighten the hair, which is what I desperately want at this point. I would love some color in the top 1/3 of my hair, but I am deathly afraid of it being damaged, even though I would not lift it but a shade or two!

I sat under the dryer for about an hour with the pre-poo while I researched and wrote a paper about chlamydia! HAHAHAH! I am a teen pregnancy research analyst, so I have to write about all things sexy!

I rinsed the pre-poo while in the shower and washed with my Alterna Life Scalp Therapy and my new Alterna Caviar Volume Shampoo. My hair is very fine, so I was thinking that I would try it out … I must say, I like it! I may try the Alterna Caviar Volume Conditioner when I run out in a year (each bottle lasts me about a year). I followed up with my Alterna Winter Thermal Rx Oil (it is getting a bit warmer outside and the heater in the house is not on as much … after I finish this bottle, I think I will save the remaining one for next winter) and decided that I would deep condition with my Alterna Caviar, so I put the Ion Extreme Moisture Cream on while in the shower.

For the deep conditioner, I used my good ole Alterna Caviar Conditioner with some JBCO and kukui nut oil on the ends. I left it on for about 90 minutes while I continued writing about chlamydia and taking some surveys! I hopped back in the shower to rinse, applied my Roux Porosity Control for 3 minutes and fianlly rinsed in cold water.

I saw where Shika at hairiamworld.com did a roller set by parting her hair ear-to-ear, then proceeding to do the mohawk. I decided to try it today. I applied my normal leave-ins and proceeded to roll my hair while listening to Lil’ Wayne on Pandora! I finished the roller set by spraying a bit of Alterna Bamboo Shine Luminous Shine Mist (it was a free gift with purchase!)

It took me about 40 minutes, which is the usual amount of time. There was not a gross amount of shedding today while detangling, which is great (see below).

photo 1 (7)

 

I sat under the dryer for about an hour and 15 minutes.  The back was still a little damp, so I took my blow dryer and diffuser attachment and dried it. After taking the rollers out, I finger combed, applied some Vitamin E oil and fluffed.

I WAS VERY PLEASED! This is the best roller set I have done in a long time! I do need to work on rolling the back a little better, as the longest piece was not very curly, but overall, VERY GOOD!

It’s amazing how a good Wash Day can set the stage for the rest of your day! 🙂

photo 4 (1) photo 2 (4)

 

 

Leave a Reply

