Happy 2013 (and a Wash Day)!!!

Ahh … so it’s finally 2013! I am looking forward to this year, as I think that it has great things in store for me, as I hope it does for all of my 10 readers! (HAHAHAHA!)

I decided to use this day off (ugh, can I get about 10 more of these?) to wash my hair, as it has been since its been about 10 days since it’s been washed! I started off with a pre-poo of a hot oil treatment on the scalp and cheapie conditioner, honey and veggie glycerine on the length of my hair. I left it on for about an hour and then washed. Since I had my hair flat ironed and used a silicone product, I did a light clarifying session with my Alberto V-05 Strawberries and Cream shampoo, followed by my Alterna Caviar moisture shampoo. I put on the Alterna Winter Rx Thermal Oil for about 3 minutes, rinsed, then followed up with Caviar conditioner.

I deep conditioned with my Silk Elements MegaSilk for about an hour. Instead of getting under the dryer, I sat on the couch with my turban and my phone, talking with a friend. I switched up my final rinse routine, as recommended by The Science of Black Hair. Instead of leaning over the tub where my hair is flipped up, I got back in the shower so that my hair stayed downward so that cuticles could close. I did my Roux for 2 minutes, then rinsed with cold water. I must say, it was annoying hopping back in the shower, but I guess I will have to do it!

Today I wanted big, fluffy hair, so I decided to air dry. I applied my normal leave-ins and went ahead a sealed the moisture in with Vitamin E oil. Now peep this … my hair, for the most part (sans the ends) are medium to low porosity so it takes forever to airdry. After about an hour of little results, I sat in front of our heater and let it blow on it. I was not worried, as I had thermal protectant on! In about 10 minutes, I was dry! I took out my blow dryer with the diffuser attachment, blow dried on cool to seal the cuticle. I followed with a bit of Alterna White Truffle Elixir and kukui nut oil and I was done!

The heater!

photo 1 (2)

So what will I do with this hair? I plan on bunning it, wearing it in a ponytail … whatever my heart’s content. After looking at my flat hair for the past week (I hate how flat ironing your hair leaves it like that!), I am just eager to see a bit of volume!

I love the end result! I did FaceTime with my friend’s family and her mom was like “I can see we both are having a bad hair day!” Ah, maddam, you are mistaken, for I am having a fabulous hair day! Some people have to hair all neat and tidy, pressed out with a curl on the end … not me! No sir! I am loving the volume, the density, the length!!!! Nathan liked it and said I looked like Serena Williams when she had her big hair going on (see below!)

I am debating on using this method until my next relaxer late February. I know I will rollerset when Nathan’s dad comes into town next week, but I may have to hang on to this for a while!!

photo 3 (2)                 photo 2 (5)

 

Here’s t0 continued growth and health this 2013!!!!!

Leave a Reply

