Product Review: Alba Botanica Deep Moisturizing Kukui Nut Oil

I was in Whole Foods a few days ago wanting to see what type of oils they had that had ceramides in which to seal my hair (please read more about them here, as I do not feel like paraphrasing what a million other people have written about them!) I will state that they are beneficial to your hair! 😉

The website also has a handy list of what oils contain ceramides in them. The only oil that I used that contained ceramides was grape seed oil.

Barley Malt Oil
Eucalyptus Extract
Hemp Seed Oil
Kukui Oil
Sunflower Oil
Walnut Oil
Wheat Germ Oil
Safflower oil
Grape seed oil
Poppyseed oil
Sunflower oil
Hemp oil
Corn oil
Cottonseed oil
Soybean oil
Hot 6 Oil

The hemp seed oil was too much. I was not paying $17 for it, so I went back to the section with body and essential oils and there was kukui nut oil. I knew kukui nut shells from my time in Hawaii. I know people would wear kukui nut shells (they are like they male version of leis). If I am not mistaken, Nathan wore one when he graduated from college and will probably wear another one when he graduates from law school (hurry up 2014!) I did a quick Google of kukui nut oil, found some beneficial information, so I decided to buy it. This oil also has other in it (some with ceramides), so it makes it a double bonus!

Key Ingredients

Alba Botanica Kukui Nut Organic body oil is rich in essential fatty acids to soothe and soften skin. It is also formulated with alkyl benzoate, a natural water dispersant to help reduce fabric staining. Kukui Nut Organic body oil absorbs quickly to deeply moisturize.

Kukui nut oil is derived from the Kukui nut and is rich in essential fatty acids to moisturize and repair skin. Coconut oil nourishes skin and has natural anti-bacterial properties. Sunflower oil is rich in vitamin E, an antioxidant and moisturizer. Macadamia nut oil is rich in vitamins and emollients and deeply hydrates. (From livestrong.com)

The Concern

I was excited to try this product, due to its ingredients and my personal knowledge of how beautiful Polynesian hair is. I envied the women in Hawaii with their long, flowing hair!! The only worry I had about this product was the ingredient alkyl benzoate. I wondered if a water disperant would ruin the moisture in my hair! I Googled the ingredient to see if it was in any other hair products and it was … it is in CHI Silk Infusion. I also read: “12-15 alkyl benzoate is a dry, emollient, oil soluble ester like IPM that can offer some qualities similar to dimethicone in hair care products. Use at 1 to 15% in your hair care products” (From http://swiftcraftymonkey.blogspot.com/2009/08/silicone-replacements.html). I will continue to monitor my hair and if there are any changes, I will stop using it immediately!

The Verdict (So Far)
I love this stuff! When I took my hair down Thursday morning (after its inaugural use Wednesday night), my hair was moisturized, shiny and felt soft. I also put some on my skin and even the texture feels a bit better! I have been using it especially around my eyes, as I hear it is a good way to delay wrinkles!
I have been using it every day since Wednesday. It is a heavier oil, so I only use a drop per section and that seems to suffice. I will also incorporate it into some of my prepoos and deep conditioners.
I will keep you posted on how my hair continues to react to it!
Deep Moisturizing Kukui Nut
Leave a Reply

