2012: A Year in Hair (and goals for 2013!)

I just love these reflective posts! It really allows me the time to sit back and analyze how my hair journey has gone thus far. It is has been almost a year, 50 weeks to be exact! Honestly, that it is so hard to believe. 2012 has flown by! It really seems like yesterday (it was early January!) when I went into Sally’s getting my rollers and calling my cousin at Vitacost for discounted oils for the beginning of my HHJ. Also, I was all about reading other people’s blogs! Now that I have found my rhythm, I only visit other people’s blogs occasionally. I have barely had time to write my own posts, so keeping up with other people is hard! I do like to see how people are progressing in their journeys, though!

It has been such an amazing journey and I have learned so much about my hair. Sometimes I kick myself for not finding out about HHJ sooner! I could be at WL by now, but hey, you live and learn!!

I think that by the time my year anniversary comes around, I will have gone from shoulder length to BSB in a year! That’s about 6 inches, which is the normal growth rate … I had a growth spurt in the beginning of my journey and grew about 1.5 inches in 2 months time, but that is definitely not typical and I have not replicated that since! I have mentioned time and time again that I have no problem growing hair, as many people don’t. It is just an automatic response to being alive, such as breathing (unless, of course, you have some underlying health issue … but work with me here). My problem prior to this HHJ was retention! I would run on this 18 month to 2 year cycle where I would grow it out to beyond SL, then it would be hard to manage and dry and I would just cut it up to my neck in a bob, then start the cycle over again. I have really become good at retaining length during this journey and I will pat myself on the back and say so myself! I have had to dust some dry, pitiful ends off, but for the most part, I have not suffered a major setback (thus far) and I consider myself lucky, because many of my blogging sisters have. I have had my share of maladies though, with the most prevalent being the dry ends that have had to be cut off or have taken things into their own hands and broken off themselves! Also, I have had a problem with shedding about 3x this year, but it really has not been too troublesome. I do not have bald spots or anything! I am sure I will have a lot of baby hairs growing up come this spring!! 🙂

I am happy to see the time and money I have invested into my journey have paid off! HHJ are definitely not for the faint of heart. It really does require a time committment and planning! It also requires a little bit of coin! I pretty much knew the products that I liked to use, but at the beginning, I did waste money on products that people said worked on their hair and I wanted to try out … like I was missing something! For the most part, I am still using the same products (ALTERNA … WHOOP WHOOP!) that I used prior to my hair journey.

So without further ado, let’s take a look from January to June to December 2012 (shown respectively)! Oh how I remember how I thought my hair was so long in June (hahahah!) The fun part about a HHJ is getting to experience the various milestones you reach! I was so proud of reaching APL but 2 weeks later it was a Mckayla Maroney I-am-not-impressed moment. I was ready to move on! But I am so proud of each inch that I gain! I know I may look back at the December 2012 picture in fall 2013 and think “Wow, I thought that was long?” (warranting that I do not experience a setback!), but to me, at this point and time, it is long and I am proud of it! 🙂

january20121203-104451.jpgphoto 4

Come to think of it, it really does not look like it grew much from January to June, which was why I felt like the tip of my hair was at the APL line forever, then the growth really came in over the summer and in the fall! In the past 6 months, I have pretty much covered my upper back with hair! 🙂

So what are my hair goals in 2013?

  • I would really like to make BSL by spring (I think I can do that!) and I also think that I can make MBL by the end of the year. I have about 3.5 inches, so I think that I can do that.
  • I just want to keep on keeping on … doing my normal routine!
  • I would like to learn to self-relax, but I don’t think that is going to happen this year. To be perfectly honest, I am not interested in learning how to do so. It seems labor intensive and I have a fear of burning my hair out. I interviewed a stylist yesterday in the Portland area that I think will be a good fit for my hair, so I will go to her in late February for a relaxer and I will be in NC in late May, so Kim will do it.
  • Buy a new hair dryer this spring! My Conair is doing fine for the moment, but I am sure that day is coming where drying time will be too excessive with my length.
  • Master my moisture-protein balance. I just use protein whenever I feel the need to do so (which is the point??) but I wonder if I need more of it  since my hair is getting longer and may need more strength? I know that I am protein sensitive, so using the KeraPro, the 2 minute ApHogee Keratin treatment or my other light protein leave-ins should be used only as needed. I only use the ApHogee 2 step protein treatment the week before a relaxer, as my hair does not need hard protein treatments such as that one very often. I guess I will monitor my hair to see what it needs, but for now, the routine that I have going now seems to be working.
  • Keep learning what my hair needs. It has been interesting figuring out what my hair likes and does not like this year. There are some products that I may want to try this year (the Paul Mitchell Awapuhi line has piqued my interest). If I don’t like them, then I can move on, right?
  • And lastly, AVOID setbacks!

I hope that I am blessed enough to be here next year and reflect on 2013’s goals as I head into 2014! I cannot wait to see what 2013 brings for me personally and hair-wise! Good luck to all of you on your own HHJ!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

