Last Length Check of the Year!!

Well, didn’t I tell you all that I would probably straighten my hair before next month in a post last week? Well I did! I wanted to do a final length check of 2012, so I decided to go and get it straightened.

I started off my Wash Day by doing a black tea rinse. This is the second one I have done. As you know, I have been experiencing a lot of shedding as of late and wanted to stop it the best way I could. I did not have time to do a garlic treatment, so I resorted to the black tea rinse. Since I was in a rush, I brewed the tea, threw all the ice I had in the freezer in it and then sat it in the fridge for about  minutes. I put the tea in a nozzled bottle and applied it to my scalp, then massaged it in. I then finished by dumping most of the tea on the length of my hair. I tied it up in a turban, threw on a plastic cap and cleaned up for 30 minutes.

I then hopped in the shower to shampoo. I used my Alberto V-05 as a light clarifiying treatment to remove the tea and other products from the length of my hair. I then washed 2x with Alterna Caviar, followed by the Winter Rx oil treatment for 1 minute. I then applied the ApHogee 2 minute Keratin Treatment, as it has been a while since I have done one of those. I left it on for about 5 minutes in the shower, then rinsed with cool water. I put on my Alterna Caviar conditioner, left on for 2 minutes, then rinsed in cool water.

I did a deep treatment with my Megasilk deep conditioner and a bit of kukui nut oil. I wrapped my hair in a damp turban and plastic cap and sat under the dryer for 30 minutes. I followed this by rinsing with cool water and applying Roux Porosity Control on my hair for 90 seconds, followed by a final cool rinse.

I had to blow dry my hair personally for the first time since early October I am estimating. It is definitely not something that I prefer anymore, even though it is quicker than roller setting. It is just tedious now for some reason! I have to worry about heat damage and other stuff … needless to say, it makes for a miserable blow drying session!

I applied my Alterna Photo Defense, followed by my Alterna Perfect Blowout Creme. I applied a little bit of the Redken outshine 01 Anti-Frizz Polishing Milk that I received free from Ulta as a gift with purchase. It has dimethicone in it, so after I use it, I make sure that I do a sulfate shampoo to remove the product from my hair. I blew my hair dry on cool by sections starting at the nape. I also applied some Chi Iron Guard on each section before I started blow-drying. When I finished, I put some kukui nut on and headed out the door!

During the first two sections, I was so sad, as it appeared my hair was thin … but once I got to the third section, which is the middle of my head, I felt the fullness come back!

Here’s what I looked like … I felt like Oprah on that picture with her big hair and headband (she has a bit more curl and thickness than me, as she is natural! I love her hair!) Please excuse the silly face … actually, don’t … I wanted to make it!

 oprahhair

I went to the Perfect Look salon where they flat ironed it. I have decided that I am not a fan of the Joico ReconstRx Vapor Iron. I just do not think that it gets my hair that straight. It leaves texture to it, which is great, but when I use a “get your hair flat ironed” card, I expect a bit more straightness. I am not sure what it is about the iron … maybe its the contents, maybe it doesn’t get hot enough … who knows? I had the same results when I got my hair flat ironed with it back in October. I really need to learn how to flat iron my own hair so I don’t have to pay people to do it!

The results were pretty much the same as last week … I am right at BSB! Now that it is straightened, I am pretty much there, but I will wait to claim it. I have noticed that I am closer to full APL … I mean of course there are hairs in the front that are not even to collarbone length, but I cannot help the layers that were cut into my hair once upon a time. From now on, unless I need a thickness boost, I will not ever have my hair cut in layers. They are just to annoying to grow out. My shoulder blades are pretty muched covered though!

photo 2 (4) photo 3 photo 4

Leave a Reply

