Product Review: Alterna Winter Rx for Hair Thermal Treatment Oil

Yesterday I found this product at Ulta for $4.99, originally it was priced at $20. It was just hiding in the back of the store, not obvious that it had been marked down so much! I saw it last year and was intrigued so with it being marked so low, I had to get it.

What it claims
Soothe stressed-out tresses with this comforting in-shower treatment that warms slightly to infuse moisture into hair and scalp ravaged by harsh winter weather. Leaves hair deeply hydrated, shiny and soft, and prevents cold weather hair breakage & dryness.

Comforting fragrance features notes of almond, vanilla, cherry and coconut.

– Infuses moisture into hair and scalp
– Deeply hydrates dry, damaged hair
– Leaves hair soft and and shiny
– Prevents breakage and dryness

Ingredients
Water (Aqua), Propanediol, Glycerin, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Wasabia Japonica Root Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Cetrimonium Chloride, Amodimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, C11-15 Pareth-7, Polyquaternium-7, Panthenol, Polyquaternium-10, Laureth-9, Disodium EDTA, Trideceth-12, PEG-45M, Citric Acid, Methylisothiazolinone, Benzyl Nicotinate , Caramel, Polysilicone-15, Phospholipids, Superoxide Dismutase, Saccharomyces/Magnesium Ferment, Silanetriol Melaninate, Bromelain, Papain, Saccharomyces/Iron Ferment, Saccharomyces/Copper Ferment, Saccharomyces/Silicon Ferment , Saccharomyces/Zinc Ferment, Fragrance (Parfum).

The Verdict
I put this product on after I washed with Alterna Life Solutions Clarifying Shampoo and my Caviar shampoo. I applied the product from root to tip per the instructions and tied it up in my turban while I showered. I really did not feel a warming sensation as the product claims, but that could be because I take scalding hot showers. I left it in for about five minutes and then rinsed. I immediately felt that my hair was softer, like I had applied conditioner even though none had been applied at that time. I followed up with my normal conditioning routine.

I really like this product. I am reading articles about how the winter weather, inside heat and lack of humidity can ravage your hair and I am convinced that this product works by the feel of my hair after I left it on for just 5 minutes. This product also has oils that I use in my prepoo such as jojoba, sweet almond and formerly, coconut oil. I will be using it every wash day until it gets warm (which in Oregon could be July).

I even went to Ulta and bought the remaining 2 they had! A bottle will probably last me 2 months or more. I will probably have one bottle to carry over until next winter!

This product gets an A!

20121209-124437.jpg

Leave a Reply

