Regimen Reassessed … Porosity Issues

After last night’s trim and porosity testing, it is time to reassess my current regimen. The ends of my hair have been so dry lately, despite me M&Sing daily … which is a classic sign of porosity issues!

I have decided to incorporate Roux Porosity Control conditioner back into by regimen by using a bit in my steam treatment and as my final rinse to close the cuticle! I must say that I am a bit disappointed because I thought that hair did not have porosity issues. That is why is so important to listen to your hair, continue monitoring it and readjusting regimens to your hair’s needs!

Here is some excellent information by Audrey Davis-Sivasothy on hair porosity.

http://blackhairscience.com/my_hair_porous.html

Also, I think I trimmed a bit much off in certain sections. I had Nathan measure my length and it seemed similar to the measurements he took last week, but I did see some pieces on the ground that were at least an inch! It’s all good, though. I am going to readjust my goals for my relaxer. I hope to be at 6.5 on my length check shirt (instead of the original goal of 7). For some reason, I feel like I have been stuck at the same APL length for the past 4 months. I am just ready to hit that 7 in my longest layer … not sure when that will happen, but hey, my hair surprises me sometimes!

I am impressed with the thickness of my hair, though! It often looks that way when it is air dried … the real test will be how it looks after I get a relaxer in 4 weeks!

Leave a Reply

