Goals for the Summer!

Well summer is coming to Oregon! It will be in the 80s this weekend … meaning it will be hot as the blazes (like my lovely aunt Rochelle says!)

While I was in DC, there was quite a bit of humidity. We stayed on the Potomac River and it also was somewhat rainy. As soon as my hair hit the outdoors, it swelled up. It was almost like the east coast was welcoming me back home!

So I have not been taking the best care of my hair for the past month. I am about one month post Retin A, so I am getting rid of some of the residual acne and marks. I have been meeting a lot of new people, so I needed my hair down to cover the ones on my jaw, so I have not been protective styling as much, which means my ends are probably raggedy and splitting. They did not look too bad last week, but now they are looking a bit horrid.

I also ran my flat iron in my hair three times last week … not all over … but to straighten out some of the areas that got a little bent. I normally would just leave the hair to its own devices, but I didn’t because I needed it down. Sigh.

Now I am back home … where I don’t care who sees me because I am not trying to impress a soul. My hair is tied up in a bun today, as it will be most of the time.

So what are my hair goals for summer?

1. Moisturize and seal daily in sections using Alterna truffle and EVOO.

2. Scalp massages with sulfur mix 3x per week.

3. Continue with steaming treatments once per week.

4. Protective style 80% of the time (e.g. 5 out of 7 days per week).

5. Reach 7 on my length check shirt by August (longest length).

This is my aunt Mel’s hair! When I was home, I had to take a picture … I hardly ever see her with it down when I get to see her, so this was a real treat! I told her she was my hair goal!! It is the prettiest hair ever!! And she’s kin to me, so I know I can achieve long lengths! It appears that it is tail bone length, which is at least two-three years away for me. She has been growing her hair out since 1994, but it won’t take me 16 years!! Hahah!

20120520-184143.jpg

Leave a Reply

