CORRECTIVE RELAXER NEEDED!

Today I am 4 weeks post relaxer and from week 1 it looked as if I have not had one. The curl is somewhat relaxed, but it has more of a texlaxed look, which is cute, but my hair is a bit thick and I am not feeling it at this point. You can still see about 2 inches of wave, then this straight-ish hair. Also, it is hard to differentiate between new growth and the texlax hair, as my natural hair is wavy. All of these textures are not good and can cause hair to be prone to breakage, so I am just going to have a corrective relaxer put in.

The stylist used a calcium-based relaxer, which is essentially no-lye. I think that a lye relaxer would be a better fit for me, as it is stronger and will work more quickly to penetrate my low porosity hair. I used to be deathly afraid of lye relaxers (but not knowing what the stylist put on my hair), but now that I understand my hair, the benefits of lye and how it will help my hair … I am game for it.

Read about the lye vs. no lye debate here. HINT: Any relaxer that needs activator is no-lye.

http://blackhair.about.com/od/permsrelaxers/p/lyevsnolyerelaxers.htm

I am going to use the Mizani Butter Bleads on my hair when I do it in May. My old stylist Jeanne used Mizani relaxers and I always had great results. I also will be looking for a new stylist. I am just not feeling the salon I went to. Both times I have been moderately pleased, but not WOWED like I was when I was with Jeanne. I remember living in Hawaii and relaxers costing me $120 a pop, but I got the royal treatment (deep conditioners, protein, etc., trim). I remember complaining about how expensive they were, but I would GLADLY pay it now, as my hair always looked good when I left there. And it was always so healthy looking!

I am going to start looking for a new stylist for my next relaxer in August. I think I will finally try Ulta in Beaverton or a JCPenney Salon, as they were referred to me from the Mizani website. The first time at the salon I went to in Portland, the guy was OK, but he used tools that I thought were a bit inferior to be using in an “upscale” salon. His blow dryer looked a bit worse than mine. The second time, the lady did a good job, but as much as she flexed her hair knowledge, she did not offer me a deep conditioner or anything after the relaxer and gave me just a wash and set. The next day, my hair felt so dry that I had to redo it. I was livid (see post “Guess where I am?“)

Also, I have decided to limit my relaxer stretches to 3 months. By that time, I will have 1.5-2 inches of new growth. It really is no need for me to stretch any longer.

Leave a Reply

