Product Review: Hawaiian Silky Miracle Worker 14-n-1

Imagine my surprise when I heard that one of the best water-based moisturizers for our hair was S-Curl or Wave Nouveau! S-Curl was essentially Jheri curl juice (aka “activator”) black in the day (yes, I meant to put it like that!) If you think about it, it makes perfect sense! Think about all those “Soul Glo”-esque curls you saw on the elders of the church, how glistening and moist they looked! And of course, you knew a “dry curl” when you saw one, obviously it was one that had neglected the activator too long! Oooo! I hated seeing “dry curls!”

Anywho, I originally was M&S with Alterna Caviar White Truffle Elixir, which is great stuff, but too pricey for something I need to use everyday, so I trekked to Sally’s to get some S-Curl, but preferably Wave Nouveau … I don’t know, I just can’t get down with the S-Curl, too many stigmas attached!!

Sally’s had neither, but they did have Hawaiian Silky. It, too, was a curl activator. It was $5 for about a six month’s supply … SCORE!

I have been using it about three weeks and I must say, I really like it! It makes my hair moisturized without leaving it weighed down. I part my hair into six sections and apply to each section, followed by a drop or two of sealing oil.

February 21 – I have terminated my relationship with HS … as I believe this product contributed the my continued dry ends due to it containing mineral oil. Back to Alterna for now …

 

This gets an A!

 

20120213-173017.jpg

Oh Lord! Is that J. Foxx with a Jheri???

Oh and of course the iconic classic, Soul Glo! Look at how moist their hair was!!

Leave a Reply

