LaShanda’s Apothecary

I was looking in my bathroom’s linen closet where I store all of my hair supplies and noticed that I have acquired a bunch of oils over the past three weeks. It looks like an apothecary (e.g. pharmacy). These are the oils that I use to do my hot oil mixes (pre-poos), scalp massages and sealing oil. You see, these oils are like Lay’s Potato Chips — you can’t have just one! I love compounding them, as they all have uses that are beneficial (see post on benefits of oils). I will share my recipes (and hopefully post a video on how I make them soon).

I am also thinking about trying the Jamaican Black Castor Oil … I heard great things about it … we shall see. It’s not too pricey on Amazon, but I wish they had it at Vitacost, my new favorite place to shop!!

Sealing Oil

Grapeseed

Vitamin E

Jojoba

Coconut oil (I melted it and poured the liquid part in)

Sweet Almond

Hot Oil

Grapeseed Oil

Sesame

EVOO

Sweet Almond

Tea Tree

Lavender

Vitamin E

Jojoba

Scalp massage

A few drops of either Vitamin E, Jojoba or Sweet Almond Oil mixed in with a few drops of tea tree, eucalyptus and/or lavender.

NOTE! Do not use pure essential oils (e.g. the lavender, eucalyptus, and tea tree) on your hair! They need a “carrier oil” such as Vitamin E, Jojoba, Coconut or Sweet Almond!

Refreshing Spritz to Spray on New Growth

Pure Water

Rosemary Water

Few drops of Lavender, tea tree oil, eucalyptus oil, Vitamin E

20120212-190459.jpg

Leave a Reply

